ASP Winter-Spring 2015

Location

5845 S. Blackstone, Apt 105

Chicago, IL 60637

Date & Time

Jan. 15 — Apr. 30, 2015

Free Event

Moderator

  • Jeremy Cohan
  • To receive papers, email jeremyc@freudians.org

Schedule

Analytic Social Psychology Study Group
Winter-Spring 2015

Session 1
Thursday // January 15, 2015
4:00 eastern // 3:00 central

  • Reading
  • Erving Goffman, Asylums, essays 1 and 2
  • “Characteristics of Total Institutions”
  • “The Moral Career of the Mental Patient”
  • Presenter
  • Christie Offenbacher

Session 2
Thursday // January 29, 2015
4:00 eastern // 3:00 central

  • Reading
  • Erving Goffman, Asylums, essays 3 and 4
  • “The Underlife of a Public Institution: A Study of Ways of Making Out in a Mental Hospital”
  • “The Medical Model and Mental Hospitalization: Some Notes on the Vicissitudes of the Tinkering Trades”
  • Presenter
  • Christie Offenbacher

Session 3
Thursday // February 19, 2015
5:30 eastern // 4:30 central

  • Reading
  • Greg Gabrellas, “Technology as Ideology”
  • Respondent
  • Scott Jenkins

Session 4
Thursday // February 26, 2015
4:30 eastern // 3:30 central

  • Reading
  • Amir Hampel, “Anxious Empires of the Self-actualized: Personal Growth Groups in China”

 

March 27-29 // Summit

  • research symposium
  • Chris Crawford on the broken marriage between sociology and psychology
  • Jeremy Cohan & Greg Gabrellas on the repressed Christopher Lasch
  • Christie Offenbacher on Erving Goffman and total institutions today
  • Scott Jenkins on psychoanalysis and disaster, a discussion of Hanna Segal’s “Silence is the Real Crime”

 

 

Session 5
Tuesday // April 21, 2015
3:30 eastern // 2:30 central

  • Reading
  • Christopher White, Unsettled Minds
  • Presenter
  • Ben Fong

Session 6
Thursday // April 23, 2015
3:30 eastern // 2:30 central

  • Discussion with Christopher White
  • on Unsettled Minds